ASN Report 2022

responsible for nuclear activities regulated by the Public Health Code. Its independence is guaranteed by law. The Committee comprises four regular members, two State advisers appointed by the Vice-President of the Council of State and two advisers from the Cour de cassation (Court of Cassation) appointed by the first President of the Court of Cassation. It also comprises alternate members. The duration of the members’ mandate is 6 years. At their first meeting, on 19 October 2021, the regular members elected Mr. Maurice Méda as Chairman of the Committee for the next three years. They also adopted the internal rules of procedure which were published in the Official Journal on 5 November 2021 and in the ASN Official Bulletin the following 8 November. Annual information exchange meeting between the members of the Administrative Enforcement Committee, the ASN Commission and the ASN general management was held on 9 December 2022. As set out by law, the Committee will meet exclusively when referred to by the ASN Commission. This latter may decide to open a procedure leading to issue of a fine after clearly determining that the person responsible for nuclear activities has not complied with a formal notice, in other words has not taken the measures required by this formal notice. The fines will be proportional to the seriousness of the observed breaches and in particular take into account the extent of the impact on the environment. The maximum amount of the fines is set by law at 10 million euros, in the event of a breach of the provisions applicable to basic nuclear installations, one million euros for a breach of the provisions applicable to NPE, 30,000 euros in the field of transport of radioactive substances, and 15,000 euros for small-scale nuclear activities. The administrative fine issue procedure includes compliance with the adversarial principle. No penalty can be imposed without the party concerned or their representative having been heard or summoned. The Committee’s decision may be made public. The decisions pronounced by the Administrative Enforcement Committee may be referred to the administrative jurisdiction (Council of State) by the person concerned, by the ASN Chairman or by the third parties. ASN head office departments The ASN head office departments comprise an Executive Committee, a General Secretariat, a Management and Expertise Office, an Oversight Support Office and nine departments covering specific themes. Under the authority of the ASN Director General, the Executive Committee organises and manages the departments on a day to day basis. It ensures that the orientations determined by the Commission are followed and that ASN’s actions are effective. It oversees and coordinates the various entities. The role of the departments is to manage national affairs concerning the activities under their responsibility. They take part in defining the general regulations and coordinate and oversee the actions of the ASN regional divisions: ∙ The Nuclear Power Plant Department (DCN) is responsible for regulating and monitoring the safety of the NPPs in operation, as well as the safety of future power generating reactor projects. It contributes to the development of regulation/oversight strategies and ASN actions on subjects such as facility ageing, reactor service life, assessment of NPP safety performance and harmonisation of nuclear safety in Europe. The DCN comprises six offices: “Hazards and Safety Reviews”, “Equipment and Systems Monitoring”, “Operation”, “Core and Studies”, “Radiation Protection, Environment and Labour Inspectorate” and “Regulation and New Facilities”. ∙ The Nuclear Pressure Equipment Department (DEP) is responsible for monitoring the safety of PE installed in BNIs. It monitors the design, manufacture and operation of NPE and application of the regulations by the manufacturers and their subcontractors and by the nuclear licensees. It also monitors the approved organisations performing the regulation checks on this equipment. The DEP comprises three offices: “Evaluation of the conformity of new NPE”, “In-service Monitoring” and “Relations with the Divisions and Interventions”, plus two units: “Baseline Requirements, Quality Audits” and “Organisations Inspections Irregularities”. ∙ The Transport and Radiation Sources Department (DTS) is responsible for monitoring activities relating to sources of ionising radiation in the non-medical sectors and to transport of radioactive substances. It contributes to the drafting of technical regulations, to monitoring their application and to managing authorisation procedures (installations and equipment emitting ionising radiation in non-medical sectors, suppliers of medical and non-medical sources, accreditation From left to right: V. Cloître, C. Quintin, O. Gupta, D. Delalande, J. Collet and P. Bois THE MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 128 ASN Report on the state of nuclear safety and radiation protection in France in 2022 • 02 • The principles of nuclear safety and radiation protection and the regulation and oversight stakeholders 02