ASN publishes the French National Report established for the Fifth Review Meeting of the Joint Convention

Published on 15/10/2014 at 14:00

Information notice

The Fifth triennial meeting of the Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste (or Joint Convention) will be held from 11 to 22 May 2015 in Vienna, Austria.

In order to prepare this meeting, France submitted on October 8 to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) its national report on compliance with the Joint Convention obligations. The report, drafted under the coordination of the French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN), is the result of a joint effort with the General Directorate for Energy and Climate (DGEC) and the Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection Mission (MSNR) of the Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy, the National Radioactive Waste Management Agency (Andra), the Institute for Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), the French Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies Commission (CEA), AREVA and EDF.

The report sets out the measures implemented by all the French parties and presents the latest developments and perspectives related to the scope of this Convention, in particular on the evolutions of the European and the French regulatory frameworks, of radioactive material and waste management policies, and of decommissioning issues. Lastly, the report specifies the new measures considered in France to take into account the feedback experience from the Fukushima accident.

The review meeting of the Join Convention will give the opportunity to each Contracting Party1 to the Joint Convention to present its national report and to answer to questions on it, each report being submitted for review by all Contracting Parties before this meeting.

1. As at October 3rd 2014, the 69 Contracting Parties are as follows: Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Euratom, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan and Vietnam.

Date of last update : 03/09/2021