Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) of the OECD

Created in 1958, the NEA groups the majority of the OECD members states and its main purpose is to promote cooperation between the governments of the participant countries for the development of nuclear energy as a safe source of energy that is acceptable both environmentally and economically.

Within the NEA, ASN participates in the work of the Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities (CNRA), the Committee on Radiation Protection and Public Health (CRPPH) and the Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC) -.

ASN also contributes to the work conducted by certain working groups of the Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI).

Since June 2016, the CNRA has been chaired by Victor M. McCree, Director General of the USNRC, succeeding Jean-Christophe Niel, who had assumed the presidency since December 2012.

For more informations